Bayernwald (Bayern Wood)

This unique German site is located between the villages of Wijtschate and Voormezele. The site consists of two mine galleries, a mine shaft, a trench system and five bunkers. It is accessed via a footpath which passes through the restored network of trenches. A series of information panels give details of the events which took place here and explain what life at the front was really like.

Extra info:
Attention: tickets are not available on the location of Bayernwald.

Opening hours
Open every day from 0900 until 1800
Closed on these hunting days:
Friday 16th August, Friday 23th August, Friday 30rd August, Sunday 15th September, Saturday 21st September, Saturday 28th September, Saturday 26th October, Sunday 10th November, Saturday 30th November, Sunday 8th December, Thursday 12th December, Saturday 11th January 2020.

Entrance prices:
€ 4pp individual ticket
€ 1,50 pp youngsters < 25
€2,50 pp for teachers
€0 children until 7 year
Groups from 20 persons: € 2,50 pp.
A guided visit can be asked at toerisme@heuvelland.be

Duration of the visit average 45 minutes.
The site is accessible for wheelchairs. (for more information contact Tourism Heuvelland)

Entrance tickets available at Tourist Office Heuvelland, Heuvelland Visitors Centre (Sint-Laurentiusplein 1, 8956 Kemmel)

From 16/11 untill 31/03 Tourist Office Heuvelland is closed on Mondays to purchase the tickets.
Tickets can also be bought at:
Bistro Saint-Hubert, Sint-Medardusplein 17, Wijtschate
Local shop Appetijtje, Sint-Medardusplein 4, Wijtschate
Bakkery Pauwelyn, Dries 9, Kemmel
Tourist Office Ieper, Markt 34, Ieper

  • From 1 January 2019 tot 31 December 2019
  • Monday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Tuesday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Wednesday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Thursday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Friday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Saturday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Sunday
  • 09:00 until 18:00

Prices

Standard € 4,00
Extra information €2,50 pp for teachers If teachers accompany a school group, they have free entrance.
Group: min. 20 Persons € 2,50 per person

  • From 1 January 2019 tot 31 December 2019
  • Monday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Tuesday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Wednesday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Thursday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Friday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Saturday
  • 09:00 until 18:00
  • Sunday
  • 09:00 until 18:00

Images